Discussing controversial topics with those with contrasting views is not useful because very few people change their mind when questioned about their core beliefs.

Write a response to the prompt in which you discuss whether or not you agree or disagree. Be certain to fully develop your position and carefully consider ways in which your position could be challenged.

We live in modern society or a global world, where everyone is connected and everyone has their say about certain events or topics. I do agree that some people might have a contrasting viewpoint on a particular topic, but some would speak in a support of the topic. In the argument above, the author suggests to exclude the contrasting viewpoint from the discussion of controversial topics. In my belief, just only because some people have the paradoxical view, excluding them from the conversion is not a good idea. Here are the two pints that can support my argument.

Firstly, I believe having different viewpoints on a table would help us to analyse the situation better. It would help us to reach on the better conclusion as we can discuss the topic from every possible view. For Instance, if a scientist creates a new development in a particular field and claims that it will provide a solution to a long age problem persisting in society. If no one comes in the front share his opinion or to criticize the findings. It might be used around the world without knowing it’s benefits and lacks. If some other scientists do tell about where it is wanting or it’s other cons as well, that might help the creator to develop an improved version and help the society to know where it can or can not be used.

Secondly, nowadays, if we take a look around ourselves, will find that people are a bit more furious in nature or have a less tolerating limit which eventually causes a protest to grow. Keeping the furious nature of the people in mind, we can’t afford to neglect the contrasting audience from the conversation. If I take a particular example of India, where the government as recently changed the citizenship policy of the country. Many Muslims and minority castes believe that they are not included in a new policy of the government or they might get excluded from India, which is not the case. In the starting, they tried to put their arguments in front of the government, but they felt they were not being heard they started a protest all around the country.

I do agree with a point that sometimes people do come up with a really absurd line of reasoning and sometimes it is also important to not to hear such claims for the better working of the institution.

After taking a brief look into the statements that counter the argument which has been put forward by the author, I believe there is no harm in considering the contrasting point of views on the controversial topics. Sometime it would help to reach on the better conclusion and sometimes it would help us to mitigate the protest in a country or a city as well.