A distinguished essayist once wrote: "Some books are to be tasted, others to be swallowed, and some few to be chewed and digested."

Write an essay in which you:

Describe a book that has strongly affected you.

Explain how your reading of this book changed your outlook.

Tell why you think this book had such a profound effect on you.

I am an avid book reader since my college days when I started reading fictional books out of the boredom of course books. I used to keep one fiction book as my go-to place when I wanted to take a break from regular studying. A few years back, I started reading non-fiction more and my interest leaned towards self-help and management books more.

One book which stood out for me is "The Secret" - by Rhonda Bryen, a famous book which later turned into a very famous movie as well. This book is based on the 'Law of Attraction' concept and how this concept works, what can we do to align ourselves better with the universe. This sounds superficial and when I had started, it was based on the recommendation from a close friend. I was personally going through a rough patch in my life where I needed the motivation to go on and get back to the zeal of living that I earlier had.

"The secret" talks about the mechanism on which universal energies work, based on frequencies that we emit and attract in our life. This holds true for almost everything and every living being. From our thoughts to our actions, everything is aligned with the frequencies on which we operate and if we want to attract something specifically in our lives, we need to match our frequencies with the frequency of our desire. The most interesting thing about this concept (which is misunderstood mostly) is that the frequencies that we transfer to the universe need to reflect the state that we want to attract. If we want to attract wealth in our lives and we emit the energy which represents lack of wealth, the universe will absorb the lack of wealth as a message and will align situations which will further add to the pool of lack. This concept is neither spiritual nor too practical/ realistic, it is based on pure physics if we try to put logic behind it. This touched the chord in my heart. I am a believer of Karma as well and I believe that whatever we throw in-universe, it comes back to us within this lifetime. Matching our thoughts with the frequency of our dreams resonated with my mind.

Many successful artists, businessmen vouch for 'Law of attraction' and I thought to try implementing it as well. I wanted to feel at peace and happy at that point in my life, so I practiced with peace first. My daily routine used to be imagining myself at a peaceful state and visualize how happy and content it feels. This definitely wasn't a smooth ride as it sounds. It was a deliberate practice as suggested in the book which I diligently followed. I kept moving my thoughts back to the happy place that I had created in my mind and started visualizing myself peaceful and laughing. This might sound absurd, but I did overcome that difficult time quicker than expected.

I still refer to this book whenever I feel that I need a refresher for myself. This book guided me and allowed me to change my habits, my thought process in a way that today I spend at least 10minutes daily on my goals - writing them down, visualizing them and charting an action plan to reach them. I am more confident and grounded in my actions and hard work as I understand that the universe is working with me for my interests and not against me. This book had a profound impact on the way I look at the world and possibilities now. I would recommend this book to everyone at least once.