The drawbacks of traditional energy sources mean that they are not a long-term solution to meeting the ever-increasing power needs.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain the reasoning for the position you take.

Power and energy have always been an issue in the country Ghana. It is the most taxed sector released by the Ghana Statistics Board. Over the years there many energy techs have been developed and that are really helping pushing industries. Currently in Ghana, the main source of energy production is hydroelectric and nuclear energy. Even though these sources have been of great help, it is imperative that cheaper and make safer power techs are generated.

Over the years, we have used hydroelectricity, coal, natural gas has our main sources of energy. In Ghana there are regulatory Bodies that check the operations of institutions that produce energy through these sources. But the ripple effects on nature keep rising. Hydroelectricity heavy depends on waters and rivers. Damming of rivers and other water bodies, affects the fish hence the turbines installed, and chemicals used render that dam dangerous for fish life. Burning of coal and drilling of oil causes air pollution. Drilling of oil and its transportation sometimes causes oil spillage and effects poisons wildlife found in the portion of the sea. Recently, TV3- Ghana telecasted an incident along the seashores of Accra-Ghana where Dolphins were pictured at the seashore struggling to breath because of the continuous pollution of the water bodies. Nuclear energy is reliable and inexpensive in the short because there is no thing as air pollution or oil spillage. But in the long run this source will create a lot of radioactive waste which will in turn cause issues for the workers and plants.

Beyond the enormous health hazards and current sources of energy impose huge economic costs on the consumers. In Ghana cost of electricity rises every quarter and yet the power is not stable. As a firm you end up spending more on power but the returns on it is not always guaranteed. If these alternative power sources are developed, this would help firms who are now coming into business. Due to the highly nepotistic era, we find ourselves companies who are trying to invent such techs find it hard to access loans from the banks because of fear of collapsing the already existing power model. Yearly health hazards and its related conditions cause the government Billions of Cedi’s.

Some energy theorists and company executives argue that the push for new sources of energy might affect the already existing companies that have these traditional sources as their main business model. They all accept that their business model is not favorable to the environment. Yet they fail to accept that if they do not change their business model there will no business since the ripple has collapsed it. Newly developed techs like solar energy and nuclear energy already exist in homes and some hospital even use it. If the limited resources aligned in that direction are producing great outputs, more intensive investments from the central government of Ghana will make these less expensive and this would reduce the economic burden on the consumers.

Those who argue that alternative sources of power production are too expensive and might collapse already existing power companies are very short-sighted. In fact, the current energy sources have lots of indirect costs in its effects on our health and environment at large. The engineers responsible for this have barely taped into the potential of these alternative energy sources. The engineers are getting comfortable at where they are, this zeal can be ignited if the government is committed to taping in these sources. With the limited at our disposal and an ever increasing population to consider , we should not delay in diverting resources to explore alternative sources of energy.