Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

According to the speaker, education institutions should dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed. I concede that if someone studies in the fields that he/she is not good at, is very frustrating. This kind of depression may hinder their motivation; thus the students may not be able to reach their goals in the study fields. However, how do we definite “success” can also decide if schools should dissuade students from pursuing the fields they do not seem quite good at.

I concede that people will be really disappointed if they find out they can’t succeed in what they are pursuing. If we spend more time on something we are good at, we might be able to reach the greater goals. Put this in education, when students pursue what they can handle well, they might get really good grades and achievement. Studying something we are not good at or something we’re already been told can’t succeed is really frustrating, and also reduce student’s motivation to pursue greater knowledge in that field. Spending time on what we’re already good at might to be more efficient.

However, the main idea is about success, and it can be many aspects of success. If we’re talking about have a great achievement or win the prizes in the studying field, I can agree with the speaker. But if we are talking about self-value, which can not be judged by the sociality, it might be haughty to dissuade someone from the field they are working on. We all have different angles about how success is, some might think about wealth, honor or being famous; some might think that pursuing something they really have enthusiasm in, is the greatest success.

Another point is how do we think about education, is an education all about succeeding? As we cannot have a direct definition of success, and education should service every citizen in the country. It doesn’t matter if people can “succeed” in the field that they’re working on, what really matters is, if they can gain knowledge and satisfaction from it? For instance, I’m not a native English speaker and have a really tough time preparing for the GRE test, it seems I’m unlikely to succeed at first; but when I kept studying, I knew that I’m improving, and this really gave me great satisfaction. What people can gain or whether they succeed doesn’t have an absolutely standard, and some abilities might not be observed.

In brief, students should or should not keep pursuing something they might not succeed it all depends on themselves. Only students know if they should keep on something that others might think inappropriate for them. It’s not an educational institution’s responsibility to dissuade them. And yet, someone who seems not able to succeed might have a great achievement at the end. So I disagree that educational institutions have the responsibility to dissuade students who are unlikely to succeed in a certain field.