Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

I believe Educational institutions are more likely meant to provide the best academic experience for its students. Fundamentally an institution should be focused more towards providing courses to its students, that is a good blend of both - practical and theoretical approaches which could eventually lead students to get acquainted with applying theoretical approached in real life problems. Institutes should not coax their students’ choice of course. I do not agree to the fact that an institution should dissuade students based on what they have noticed about the student in a short span of time. Judgements can often go wrong and a student must suffer for something that is not under his/her control. Instead, institutions can provide some add-on courses for student that they think might help student getting better in a subject. In past, we have seen geniuses from all fields who were criticized and at one point considered worth-less but later invented something that inspires many generation to come.

A self-motivated person can achieve more than what he is capable. There are many examples we find where the only driving force for the person was his faith on him. Educational institutions should make efforts in upgrading the course and keep it up to the mark, providing all the facilities to its student and working towards building an environment where everyone feels inspired instead of taking a control of choosing what is best for somebody. It has been observed that a person will always make more efforts in something when he does what he wants to do. Let us take an example to conclude this point – Suppose if a person in interested is interested in doing in major in Computers but somehow the institute he opted-in for believes he is more suitable for some human behavior course. Will he be able to perform up to his caliber? He’d rather think of giving up the course or even if he completes the course he would not be as efficient as he would be had he taken the course of computers.