Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and suppo

Educational institutions serve as a backbone of a country. The students of any such institution have the responsibility of shaping the future of themselves as well as of the country. A faction of people thus believe that the educational institutions should dissuade students from pursuing the fields of study in which they are likely to fail. While it may seem true, I would like to ponder over both the sides of the coin.

Firstly, the meaning of success and that of a failure is highly subjective and can mean different events for different people. For some students, success would mean fame while for others, it would mean earning a lot of money through a job while for others, it might mean to be an owner of a company. For example, though Bill Gates was never a sharp student and failed in many subjects, he still is treated as successful after he started his own company, Microsoft. Hence, there can be mixed responses on what success is for an individual which will eventually make it difficult for the institution to judge whether a student will be successful in the field that he is pursuing or if he will fail in it.

Secondly, what parameters would be used to judge if the educational institute was right in dissuading a person from pursuing a course or was it wrong in doing so. Some students develop interest in a course as they keep on studying. While they may be bad at it at first, gradually, with practice, they may improve their performance. For instance, Albert Einstein, the great mathematician, was expelled from school by his maths teacher quoting that he is a mentally challenged child who doesn’t perform well at maths. His mother continued his studies at home and with practice, he gained perfection which led him to international fame and applaud. Similarly, if educational institutes dissuade a student from attending the course while he is bad at it, he would not get ample practice and so, they might be divesting him of the opportunity to improve and perform better with time.

There still may be some people who would believe that since a student is admitted in an educational institute, it is their responsibility to recognize the capabilities and to guide the student in shaping his career. But, I believe that this would prevent the student from becoming independent in taking his own decisions and ultimately being dependent on someone else for his life. I believe that one must make his own choices and make his own decisions about the things he wants to pursue because only if he will be interested and self-motivated in it, only then will he succeed in reaching his goal.

Thus, we have seen that if the education institutions begin to dissuade the students from pursuing a course, there is a chance that the learnings of the student will be partial and incomplete. This might lead one to be dependent on the institution for shaping his or her career. Instead, if he is given a chance to choose his own course and then practice and give in his best, there is a higher chance of his or her success.