Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

I don’t agree with the claim. Take for example, the career option of entrepreneurship. The career itself has bleak success rate. Out of 100 startups which starts in college, nearly 99 of them shut down within three years of operation. It is impossible for an institution to evaluate a candidate potential to be a successful entrepreneur. Moreover, even if the candidate wins several rewards and raise seed funding, still it is extremely hard to predict that the startup is going to survive in the next 3 years. The role of Educational institutions should be to provide children with multitude of meaningful experiences which can help one identify their own strengths and weakness and then take sound decision to pursue a particular career path. Building self-esteem should be given prime importance and even if the students fail in the path they pursue, they should have the tenacity to bounce back. We don’t learn the cycle on the same day. Some learn it quickly for other, they learn at their own pace. Providing an ecosystem of learning at their own pace is what the institutions aim for. We see some many graduates starting as a chemical engineer due to the family pressure to pursue engineering and then becoming artists in long run. Take care of Raghu Ram of Indian Ocean band. A trained chemist (PHD from Cornell) and then started diverged to start his own band and now a successful musician. Take another example of Sunny Bansal, a computer science student at IIT Delhi. He started a store which used to deliver books to the customers. Later, the same small firm got converted into the e-commerce giant known today as Flipkart. So, I don’t support the claim that educational institution should dissuade students from pursuing the field they are unlikely to succeed because one doesn’t really know that until they give it a shot! Also, we got one life, rather than living and being successful at someone else’s stale dreams its always better to fail at something close to heart! At least you tried, isn’t it?