Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of

study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree

with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the

most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your

position.

Time and again, development of brand new technology has thrown us into deeper and deeper troughs of social values and cultures. Modernization has changed the way we think, act and behave in society. Social media has made us more taciturn than gregarious. Cities, which are the most vulnerable to these paradigm shifts are hit the hardest in these terms. They shift quite dramatically from established values and traditions as a result of these changes and hence have no or vague representation of the society. Rural areas and small towns on the other hand remain cut-off from this modern technology and hence are impervious to tradition shifts. Thus to understand the characteristics of a society, it’s important to important to understand its rural areas and small towns.

In the modern world with the advent of world wide web, major cities across the globe seem to have coalesced as a single unit exchanging all kinds of information. With a click of a mouse a person sitting in new Delhi can access the daily lifestyle of Paris which is thousands of miles away. The latest change in living standard emerges in the cities first. Film industry in Mumbai controls the dressing style in Delhi. Thus cities are highly susceptible to any change in culture and traditions. However rural areas on the other hand are cut-off from the cities lacking the modern technology. The general populace residing the rural areas and small towns go on living their lives following the good old conventional traditions and cultures. If a society has prayer rituals, then it is reflected by its people living in villages and not the people living in cities who in turn atheists following the popular culture. The behavioral aspects of the society is evident in the people interacting among themselves which is easily observed in villages not in cities of today where families live in seclusion and grow apathetic to the world having more facebook friends than real friends! It is a general trend nowadays that villages preserve traditions and culture it has inherited whereas city dwellers take pride in moving away from their culture as a symbol of modernization. Thus a society’s idiosyncrasy is rightly reflected by its rural areas and small towns.

Nevertheless, there are evidences supporting the fact that cities imbibe some of the society’s most important traits. Throughout history we have encountered several civilizations develop and most of them flourished around a certain city which characterized its intrinsic cultures and traditions. Roman civilization was evidently reflected by the city of Rome until migrants from different countries adulterated it. Harappan civilization was reflected by the city of Harappa. Ancient cities very well reflected societies characteristics. Thus it is worthwhile to study the cities if we want to understand the characteristics of an ancient society. In modern times, cities no more are the virtue of the society. Now that transportation has become quite accessible, cities have been amalgamated with diverse ingredients of countless number of cities. Each individual has his/her own way of living their life. In this chaos the native characteristics of the society is lost. Thus it is futile to spend time understanding the cities to understand the society.

In conclusion, we see that modernization has cost us the extinction of our traditions and cultures from our cities. But not everything is lost. Villages and small towns which are still not completely shadowed by technology still have society’s traditions and cultures preserved.