Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

To choose a profession is always a tough decision. Most 17-year-olds struggle to find the path that best matches their passions, interest, and desires. From that perspective, it is almost impossible to reason what kind of obstacles one will face in the future. At a young age, it is quite easy to foster sweet dreams filled with illusions, only to see them crushed by the weight of the world. Not only it looks scary, but it is scary. Therefore, educational institutions must use the best of their knowledge to assist teenagers to find a path that suits them as well as keeping them from other paths that will probably lead to failure.

Generally speaking, the majority of people do not have a unique talent, something that will make them stand out in the crowd. They are a product of circumstances. A significant number of people will choose a profession not because it fulfills their deepest desire to build a meaningful legacy or whatever, but rather because they have to be someone for the sake of being someone. Modern capitalist society imposes that behavior, which is not bad; however, many people misconstrue the true meaning and impact of a career. They often select one based on flawed assumptions, such as "as a doctor, I will make a lot of money" or "I will become a plane pilot because I will travel all around the world." Nothing could be further from the truth if the individual fails to manage the plethora of troubles inherent to their occupation. Therefore, colleges should act to avoid that.

On the other hand, not all talents flourish at an early age. For example, J.K. Rowling wrote and published the first volume of Harry Potter after 40 years of age. How would it be if she was discouraged from pursuing a literary career by her school advisor? The same can be argued about Coronel Sanders, the founder of the food chain restaurants called KFC. After failing in a variety of business before his first success, Mr. Sanders opened his first store in his 60s. Would have him become a successful entrepreneur if someone possessing authority told him at a young age that he could never become a restaurant owner and thrive? Thus, it is reasonable to conclude that dissuading a person of a specific field implies a dangerous responsibility.

Incredible talents can be condemned to eternal mediocrity just because of a failing assessment performed by an educator that was not in a favorable mood. Although that is a real threat, committed educators could use the best of their experience to show a freshman the cruel reality of the world in which they live to avoid them make stupid decisions. Time is an invaluable asset. Once it is gone, it is gone. The lifespan of a human being is much shorter than it seems. Most people cannot afford wrong decisions regarding their careers because time is relentless and unstoppable.