Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extend to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position

I am hardly convinced that educational institutions like college or universities are not in capacity of predicting one’s success. In this way, I believe that they cannot dissuade students from pursuing fields of study. Here are three main reasons.

As Einstein was a very disruptive student, it was hard for him to find a placement as a teacher assistant in Switzerland. His teachers pictured him as student with no future because he was uncapable of fitting the educational mold of ETH Zurich. Though, he became one of the brightest mind sciences has never had. This example illustrates the incapacity of educational institution, and even teachers, to predict the future of a student and his capacity to succeed. Only Einstein himself was able to realize that his field of studies was what he was meant to be, even if it took some time to realize. One must focus on himself, on what he is passionate about, so one will see that those studies are meant for him/her: this work cannot be done by someone other than himself/herself.

Another reason is that our world is today very adaptive. One can have done engineering studies and end up with a businessman position. Lots of positions are accessible to students who didn’t major in the positions’ fields. What I mean here is that, despite the background you have, everything is possible since firms often propose courses to learn the hard skills the job’s taker needs to know. So, you may have had good marks during your studies, it doesn’t really shape the man/girl you will be in a firm. Again, the educational institutions only provide you with basis for your future life. You, and only yourself, are an actor of your future.

Finally, educational institutions often focus on hard skills: knowledge, ability to solve a quantitative problem, etc. Soft skills are not the main focus of courses at schools. As soft skills represent mainly seventy percent of the skills used in companies, how do educational institutions know that this student won’t succeed in life because his bad marks due to maybe his/her disinterest for the filed? In fact, some students aren’t good at schools, but once they quit school, they reveal themselves as being really good at creating a firm and managing it. Let’s take the example of Steve Jobs, who dropped out of school because of disinterest. When he founded Apple, he rapidly created the once a year meeting during which he reveals new products of his company. Those meetings made him one of the most laudable speaker, a skill which is not evaluated by educational institutions.

To conclude, I deeply think that only you can decide whether you are taking the right path or not. Educational institutions do not have the right to dissuade you from doing what you want, but can however give you some piece of advice.