Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Educational institutions are supposed to be a place where everyone gets equal right to groom themselves. Students come to learn in institutions, they all have some dreams, they want to study and see those dreams flourish one day. It’s not up to any individual, to tell somebody whether they will succeed or not in the field one want to pursue.

We have some great examples all through the history who have achieved some extraordinary things which none of us could have imagined, especially not the institutions where they studied. We all know Apple’s founder Steve Jobs. He did not have it all planned out, after the first year in college he dropped out, with no particular passion to go for. Later to earn money, he came with a plan and teamed up with Steve Wozniak to build an integrated computer that people will end up loving, and gradually created today’s Apple. Had his professors discouraged him by telling that he should not go for building computers as he will be unlikely to succeed, we would not have the Apple we know today.

If educational institutions get a say in student’s career choices, this will deprive the students of the freedom to choose for themselves. A student might be really interested in a field, and he might have just started learning in that field. if the professors start dissuading him that he will not be any good in that, and therefore he should not even aim for it, that will just ruin all the dreams. A student needs motivation, encouragement, and support of their teachers and peers. The last thing they need is someone telling them that they will not be successful in it, hence they should not go for it. How can anyone know that they will be unsuccessful at it later when they have just started.

Many factors play a deep role in deciding somebody’s success in a field. It can be their interest in that field as a major factor to start with, their dedication and hard work they pour in, their voracious attitude to always be hungry to learn more, their perseverance to go on with it even in the hard times. Success is a complicated mixture of many things done right, it cannot be judged at the initial stages of the life. It’s a continuous effort taken by the individual to improve and being dedicated and patient when things don’t always go the desired way.

In conclusion, it’s up to an individual to choose a field which they find interesting and get the support of the teachers to be successful in it. The professors should be bolstering the students and correcting their way if they go wrong somewhere, but not discouraging them by saying they will be unlikely to succeed at it.