Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of

study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Success is the ability to excel in a particular area of choice. The probability of student succeeding in a particular field of study relies on so many factors in which the institution they are studying is one of them.

Institution should not be the pivot in shaping student opinion and perspective towards pursuing a particular field or not. Ability for student to choose by themselves has led to discovery of many new talents in other field other than the one they started with. A good example of this is former Minister of Finance in Nigeria who started as art student but later graduated as economist and rose to become one of the greatest economists in this century.

In my opinion, I strongly disagree that institution has a greater impact in dissuading student from pursuing the field they are unlikely to be succeed because success does not depend on a factor but it rather depend on passion. A passionate art and humanities student can raise up to become the most successful doctor in the century if he/she has an undying passion for medicine but got deprive of science education because of one reason or the other.

Trying a new thing is what brought so great invention today so any student that has passion to pursue a new field that is different from the where they are coming from might looks unlikely to succeed to an institution but the ability succeed in a new relied much on how many energies and passion the student his/herself is putting in his/her field.

Studying a new field can show a hidden talent that got hidden maybe because of the parent forcing a child to choose the field they want. A cousin of mine was forced by his father to study science as against his wish to study art and humanities, this single act cause him to fail in chemistry and mathematics but he later wrote a novel that got accepted to the state library board. Even though he later achieved his goal but this single act of discouraging he receive from his institution to study science rather than art cause him to almost lose focus and this cause us to almost loose a talent that can save the nation intellectually.

From this perspectives above I believe student should be given chance to pursue any field they like and the institution should realize that the success of any student depends on mainly on their personal passion and conviction.