Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Choosing the field of your interest is the most important thing a person should do in his/her life as your rest if your life and especially your happiness depends on it. The author claims that educational institutions should dissuade students from pursuing the field in which they won't succeed. I strongly disagree with the thesis presented because of the following reasons.

According to research, happiness plays a vital role in determining your success. If you're happy and content with the job you're doing, you're much likely to succeed. For example, if a person who loves painting, becomes an artist, he'll put so many efforts in doing his job perfectly and passionately. He'll be able to think if creative stuff and will be able to make disparate content. On the other hand, if a person who has a passion for painting and his/her college professors recommends him not to pursue his passion because there is no stable job availability and he is unlikely to succeed, he'll maybe listen to their logical thinking but he won't be satisfied with the work he is doing.

Even if, the person agrees to the suggestions of his/her professors, the job market is ever changing. In today's era, no one can guarantee a stable job. For example, a decade back software engineers had very high demand due to emerging technology, but, in recent years, due to automation, humans are getting replaced with machines. AI and data science are the emerging technologies. Jobs are getting obsolete. Instead of a person to guide you on trip, various online platforms are available, where all the essential details about a place or a monument is easily available. Nobody can predict the future of a particular field.

It's better to pursue our passion and to follow our dreams instead of going to fields for lucrative purposes.