Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Educational institutions can be categorized into 2 groups, school and college. Schools can be hierarchially arranged as pre-primary, primary, secondary, higher secondary, while, colleges are junior college- senior college. Each of these enlisted institution has different aims towards their student. But, they all have one main objective to prepare student for further education/ career by making them all rounder and competitive. In order to achieve this aim, I agree, institutions are responsible to encourage their students in the fields they are likely to be succeeded.

One of the legendary captain of Indian Cricket team MS Dhoni, his passion and sparkle in cricket was recognised by his high school teacher and trained him to be keeper and batsman. Without strong encouragement and co-operation from high school he would have not been this great.Same for many legendary sport persons like Sania Mirza, Saina Nehwal where their schools co-operated and encouraged them to pursue their interests. Hence, educational institutions has responsibility to influence students to pursue their interests not only limited to fields of study but also other than study as well like sports or arts.

Though, this is the case not always it is morally right to dissuade students from fields of study. One can find many students in school who dont like maths at all. But, at this situation if institution dissuades them from learning maths then then those students will face difficulties in their higher education as most of school subjects are basis for higher education and it is mandatory for all to have that much basic knowledge about the subject.

For eg., If a students does not like to solve maths and like to play on ground cant be directly encouraged to pursue sports career and it is important to first rule out cause why he doesnt like maths. It might be the case that he is finding it incomprehensible.

Ultimately, I agree its educational institution's responsibility to persuade students to continue in fields (not restricted to study) they are most likely to be succeeded. This can be done only after ruling out all obvious causes for student's inability in any particular field.