Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Success is indubitably one of the primary reasons why people struggle in their lives. Consider the case of Korea where parents rear their children in a competitive educational environment. The average elementary school student in Korea goes to 4 hagwons (educational academies specializing in certain subjects, such as math hagwons and English hagwons). In this pursuit for triumph, some claim that educational institutions are responsible for dissuading students from entering fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed. However, this does not hold true in all circumstances.

Admittedly, there is a grain of truth in the argument presented above. The chances of success for ordinary people are becoming increasingly bleak. To illustrate, think about the escalating level of standard education people receive, and the global population rising on a perennial basis. Since more people engage in competition for better jobs than before, which is limited, it is a corollary that the proportion of people who fail would also tend to increase. Thus, there is nothing wrong

First of all, it is of utmost priority of educational venues to motivate students. Motivation acts as a positive driving force, and has greater likelihood of bringing favorable results in contrast to negative feedback such as dissuasion. The point of learning diverse subjects at school is not simply to score exceptional grades in tests and receive matriculation to prestigious universities. It is rather, to overview various fields of study and allow students to ruminate which of those fascinate them the most. Once they find such an area, it would be the responsibility of institutes to offer support, in order for the student to excel in specific academia.

Additionally, the very concept of success must be regarded with much thought. How are we to define success? Can it be judged by the average amount of salary that one makes, or his/her social status? There are occupations free from these considerations, and yet people in those professions find happiness and feel content. For instance, construction workers are conventionally labelled as "blue collar" and not respected very much by people. Still, they have their own set of skills which require practice, and due to their effort, others carry their normal lives in buildings, without suffering collapses. If the worker makes painstaking efforts and in the end gets to become a supervisor while feeling self-fulfillment, this could also be seen as success.

Not all students end up in Harvard or Yale. Of course, educational institutes to some extent, can prevent students from studying on areas with inferior prospects. Still, the most rudimentary principle of these places must be motivation. Also, it is imperative that we look back on ourselves and ponder on whether we have been too narrow and parochial in defining success itself.