Educational institutions dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed because they are the ones who know the students academically and their performance in respective subjects but to this claim I disagree because a person can achieve success in any field be it if they haven't performed good academically. A student's interest can change at any point of time so this should not be the responsibility of institutions but the student itself.

To elaborate on the same claim, I'd like to elaborate on my own experience. I had computer application as a subject in my ninth and tenth standard where I had mere interest in the subject but when I changed my educational board from ICSE to CBSE, my interest in computers dwelled more deeper and took computers as my fifth subject. On appearing for high school board I secured good grades in the subject later to which I opted engineering as my undergraduation and now a computer science engineer who wants to pursue masters in data science domain. So, this is just the interest that grows in as per the age. So, institutes should not intervene in the field of study a student wants to pursue.

Adding more to the statement, there is a possibility a student might not know the intricate details and information about that particular field of study but by reading about it, having couselling done or a conversation with the person who belongs from that particular field of study might help a student know about the field more clearly and then let the student decide whether he/she wants to pursue the career in the same field of study. This kind of counselling can genuinely help student understand and ponder about the path to pursue. In the above quoted experience of myself the option that led me opt computers in eleventh standard was the course curriculum that interest me lot more to understand a language, how the computer works, how a particular language is written.

Dissuading students can sometimes result in wrong career guidance because the pace of education is very fast and revolutionary as with the e-learning solutions, many students start to do things which an adult might have never thought of. So with the internet being the ocean of sources students start to experiment things at a very early age and hence come out as shining stars. As it is known, observation is the key to innovation. This is very well proven with the young age kids that observe the changes around them and innovate them at much faster pace than adults.