Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Educational institutions play a great role in shaping children's future so they should support students who wants to pursue their field of interest no matter what.

Interfering in student's choices might cause them to doubt themselves and loose their confidence. As a result of which dissuading a student to not take up their field of interest even though they are not very good at it might just end up exacerbating the situation. Children's learning ability and grasping power is higher than grown ups. With the right motivation and determination a child can try to excel in their field of study.

Educational institutions tests the ability of the student through theoretical tests. There might be chances of students excelling in a particular field practically even after failing the theoretical tests. Let us assume that a student is performing bad in business studies. That doesnt mean that the student lacks the ability to succeed in business field. The student might be street smart and possess skills and tactics which is required for successful business. So, just considering that the student is incapable of suceeding in chosen field based on institution's evaluation is absurd.

Also, every field of study has broad classifications and different streams. Institution's syllabus might just include a fraction of it. If a student doesnt perform well now, we cannot assume that he is going to fail in pursuing his interests. Consider Computer Science field, it has various streams computer architechture, programming, data analysis, artificial intelligence. Institution might not have included all these streams in the syllabus. Student who performs bad in computer architechture might excel in programming.

Although, children are prone to make mistake in choosing the field with wrong intentions. Students might choose the field for wrong reasons like - his/her peers are choosing that field, there is a lot of scope in that particular field, career opportunities in taht field is very high. These might lead the student to make wrong choices even though they are not really interested in it. Dissuading students in this case might help students to consider all the options and make a right choice at th earliest.

Therefore, there are both pros and cons for what the author has stated. Educational institutions must take great care in understanding student's motive and interest before doing the necessities. Taking a quick judgement based on scores and conventional methods of testing is inappropriate. Students should be encouraged to improve and excel in their field of interest.