Educational institutions have a responsibility to dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position

Choosing a particular field of study is highly important for a student because this choice will determine his/her future. But, quite often, students are very young and immature to understand the difference between “choosing a field” and “choosing the right field”. Thus, it is highly imperative that educational institutions help the students in eliminating those fields in which they are unlikely to succeed, and push them towards other fields where they are more likely to excel. There is no place better than an educational institution which can help gauge the performance of a student in different areas, and also analyze the reasons for the fluctuation in performances ( if any) in these areas.

Schools and colleges are institutions that teach students about various things like Science, History, Geography, Music etc. The role of these institutions is to make the students understand these subjects, by teaching them the foundations, and then moving on to the advanced concepts. Now, to measure how each student is performing in the given subjects, assignments and tests are used. These help in classifying the student’s performance in each subject, into categories like Excellent, Average, or Poor. Each institution curates the tests and assignments in a manner that tests the subject knowledge effectively. So, if a student wants to pursue a career in History, but fails to understand French Revolution, or any other historical event, it is bound to be reflected in his/her grade sheet, which is ample proof that the student should look to change his/her area of interest. A teacher can analyze the grade sheet, and take into account those subjects in which the student has scored well, which can help him/her shift her goal.

Another important aspect to consider here is that the aims of some students are impractical, and seem to have stemmed out of sheer curiosity, and attraction. A student might want to become an Astronaut just because it involves travelling in outer space, experiencing anti-gravity, wearing a fancy space suit, and so on. What the student fails to realize is that there is a lot more to the profession of Astronaut than he/she imagines. Thus, it is the role of the educational institution to step in and explain what it takes to take up any profession, and what are the different responsibilities involved in it. So, in the case of an Astronaut, a student must be told about the pre-requisites involved becoming an Astronaut ( Rigorous training, Higher levels of Education), the aim to find more about other celestial bodies by staying away from Earth for years, etc. Once a student learns all these facts, he/she can make an informed decision about his/her area of interest. Thus, the student is provided with solid evidence which forces him/her re-evaluate his/her choice.

People believe that the grades of students are not a measure of their capability in a particular subject. There should be other ways to test the calibre of a student, because relying on one particular metric can jeopardize the future of a student. Although it is true that the only way to evaluate students is by grading them using an education system, this system has been created in such a manner so as to test each and every student effectively on any given subject. They have been created taking into account the varying intellectual levels of students taking the tests, and also the amount of subject knowledge required for a student to be proficient in a subjects.

Thus, dissuading a student from entering a field which might not be compatible to him/her can help in effectively shaping his/her future.