Educational institutions should actively encourage their students to choose fields of study in which jobs are plentiful.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Choosing the field of study is one of the hardest decisions a young adult needs to make. Giving that challenge some people believe that educational institutions should actively encourage their students to choose fields of study in which jobs are plentiful. That claim should not be taken into consideration and it needs be discussed in a deeper level for two main reasons: if everyone prefers those fields, some other ones will face a deficiency of professionals. Also, the amount of jobs available will not guarantee fulfillment for one’s professional life.

It is true that not all the fields on the market have the same amount of job opportunities. But that should not be used as a main guide for such an important decision. Considering the market only, if many people choose the same field, the number of available professionals in certain areas would be exceedingly small, provoking an enormous deficiency of professionals in those areas. For example, the world need doctors and the demand on that area will always exist. But if most people decide to study medicine, we will not have enough engineers and nurses. This would generate a problem since we need nurses to take care of people in a way that doctors cannot and engineers to build the hospitals for instance. So, encouraging the students to go to where the bigger opportunities are would impact on the market.

Another point that should be taken into consideration is fulfillment with the work you are doing. People have different likes and dislikes. Not everyone would like to be a doctor, a lawyer or a nurse. Many studies have shown a correlation between the appreciation for your occupation and the performance of your work. The more you enjoy what you do, the better you will do. Giving that, pushing someone into a direction they would not choose on the first place might generate an adult who is unsatisfied with their professional life.

One counterpoint on this is that the choice of area needs to made in a very young age so it’s a bit early to tell if they are positively going to like or dislike and they will know the chances to get a successful career is higher . But a better decision can be made if they take their refers into consideration. Driving students to certain fields based on market availability is not the smartest move for them and the market itself.