Educational institutions should dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed Write a response in which you discuss your views on the policy and explain your reasoning for the position you take In developing and sup

How the education institution works is always the main point when talking about teaching. Some might consider students to specialize in what they’re good at, and to ignore those they are inept in. Yet, even if it actually saves time for students in doing those fields they’re unlikely to succeed, this situation may result in pupils’ limitation for exploring talent, and also lacks universal standards for schools to filter the goods out of the bad.

To elaborate, first of all, it is hard for some students to explore extracurricular activities during their break. As a student in Taiwan, the school schedules are usually full, and thus during the recess, we instead do homework than seeking our true interest. Eventually, we fix all our attention on the curriculum which our school arrange for us, and lack the motivation in exploring talent in return. In addition, as the saying goes,” Practice makes perfect.” Even if they are now clumsy in some fields, they still may expert them in the future. Last but not least, it would be hard for schools when it comes to admitting students for there is no such universal standard for them to refer to.

On the other hand, some may hold that requiring students to pursuing just only ones they excel in leads to professionality and uniqueness, and in turn solve the problem of incapability in skill. However, in the ever-changing society, professionality is not the only thing that we have to possess. What’s more important is how we merge what we have learned, even the most disparage fields, together to make use of them in our daily lives. Moreover, the more skills we gain, the lower the unemployment rate is. As long as we get proficient in many fields, there won’t be a big problem when we lose job for that switching a career may be a piece of cake. Consequently, in the education system, various subjects are needed for the curriculum.

Admittedly, whether educational institutions should dissuade students from pursuing fields of study in which they are unlikely to succeed may be weighed in many aspects. Different people have different explanations based on various personal experiences and beliefs. However, according to the reasons and discussions mentioned above, I may safely draw the conclusion that instead of specialization, variation is required when talking about educational institutions.