Educators should base their assessment of students' learning not on students' grasp of facts but on the ability to explain the ideas, trends, and concepts that those facts illustrate.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Education is a key focus of any society. The development of the human species has been highly influenced by the extent of learning from and about one’s surroundings. Thus, one of the main concerns of an educator are to ensure maximal learning of their students. This requires them to assess the current standing of the students and thereby adapt their teaching methods accordingly. Accurate assessment of a student’s learning is vital to test their understanding of the subject or issue at hand in order to predict their success in the given field. The knowledge of a field comprises of main concepts or ideas which have resulted in specific observations materialized in terms of facts. Thus, any domain understanding would comprise of a strong grasp on both.

However, given the high student-teacher ratio and the abstract nature of any subject theory, it is easier to assess one’s perceptivity on the facts. It is easier to test one’s ability to state the meaning or the historical significance behind a given poem rather than to judge one’s ability to relate it to one’s own experiences. But, “the facts” are simply an implication of deep underlying structures and dynamism. An evaluation which is unable to elicit a hold on this would be incomplete.

Given that one of the fundamental aims of education is to encourage new ideas and innovation, an emphasis on inspiration from other ideas is important. Alan Turing, understood the idea behind a typewriter as a mechanical effort reducing device and hence extrapolated it to design a mechanical decision making device - the modern computer. Yet, ideas in themselves which are sporadic would fail to be activated towards the implied result. An understanding of the patterns and trends connecting those ideas would develop the chain of thought required by the subject. While Newton’s laws of motion are common knowledge, it is an engineer or a physicist who is able to bring together these laws and manipulate them to new discoveries.

At the same time, in order to truly incorporate the working or principles forming the crux of a domain, one must be able to link the ideas and trends with the real world examples through concepts. A keen understanding of reduction-ism in philosophy would entail not just the relevance or similarity of this notion, but also to relate the various examples or paradigms which fall into this mental category. Formation of such mental networks and links towards a concept establishment is key to literary enlightenment.

However, a strong ability of idea abstraction and concept formation would not necessarily indicate a strong theory background. One may have understood the idea and concept behind multiplication as well as the patterns therein, yet without knowing the basic mathematical tables, one would be at a major loss in most supermarkets! Every field has a strong theory which has been built upon the facts addressed. Ignoring the facts would prove counter-productive towards finding existing flaws in the current theory. Thus, we find that an educator would be required to test most importantly the ability of a student to realize the ideas, concepts and trends in the course while also judging her grasp on the facts securing a futuristic learning.