Educators should find out what students want included in the curriculum and then offer it to them.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

A curriculum that students want has a direct positive impact on how students performs academically. The prompt suggests that Educators should find out what students want in their curriculum, include it and offer it to them. I mostly disagree with this recommendation for two reasons.

To begin, if the curriculum did not have the elements students want, students would not show much intrest in studying and therefore perform bad academically. For instance, if a subject which the students want is not included in their curriculum, it makes the curriculum feel alien to them, this make them lose intrest in studying which is ultimatly bad. The above example tells how not including student preferences into the curriculum makes it less intresting to them.

On the contrary Educators design a curriculum very meticulously and in a very balanced way, So by including everything that the students want could make the curriculum lose its balance or become very narrow. Students would want elements which help them get jobs to be included into the curriculum, but they lack the knowledge to know how dynamic the job market is. for instance becasue of the Technology Boom that is happening today students would want to include subjects like Computer programming etc, but what history tells us is that no job role is concrete or evergreen, what is 'new' today could become old tomorrow. So a balanced curriculum designed by Educators would prove to be a better hand in the game of jobs.

Now, as I have put forward both my reasons the prompt is a difficult one to take a concrete stand on, but in my opinion a better approach would be to include what students want in a way that would not effect the curriculum's balance. This way would be the best to appease everyone.