The effectiveness of a country's leaders is best measured by examining the well-being of that country's citizens.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your re

To discuss the argument, first we must define what constitutes well-being of citizenry in any nation. Well-being includes safety, good health intertwined with technological advance and a sustaining economy. Most of these factors are imposed on people of a society or a country by its government ruled by the leaders. Although leaders from other areas,such as scientific, philosophical and many more fields also contribute substantially but without the political leaders seminal support this would not be possible. Thus, the status of the people - good or bad - comes from the roots of the leadership.

Both the history and contemporary times resonates many evidences to prove this argument. For one, the nation's financial institutions with its well educated and decisive leadership contributes to the growth of society by increasing the welfare and standard on living of its people. For instance, countries like US, UK are some of biggest global economies in the world achieved this position through the astute of their leaders over many decades.Countries like Pakistan with its ineffective leadership still struggles to maintain their current economic status.

Secondly, health system is one of the most discerning factors that reflects the country's well-being. Britain's free health treatment since the last decade or two, provides us with a conspicuous example. This would not had been possible without the government financial and health ministries erudite in providing such facilities its people. This feat is not even undertaken by 10% of the countries in the world.

Although effective leadership clearly mirrors the well-being, there are cases where ineffective leadership does not impact the being of the people. For suppose, countries like Iran, Iraq and many such countries have dissolute governments but due to globalization, private institutions and organisations like UN have alleviated many sufferings of the people over the past decade, those people, at present lead a standard life.

Therefore, from the above stated analysis we could say that the effective leadership provides and even enhances the well-being of the people.