The effectiveness of a country's leaders is best measured by examining the well-being of that country's citizens.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position

To measure the effectiveness of a leaders, which in itself is a complicated subject to define, by just the parameter of well-being of citizenry seems unfair. Also, well-being of citizens is an elusive topic to be measured.

Well-being of a citizens depends on many factors that may not be influenced by leadership alone. For instance, a country rich in resources like minerals, oils, rivers, fertile soils and moderate temperatures would be self sufficient and not depend on extrinsic help. The people of such country would unlikely be affected by famine or draughts. There are more chances of such countries to prosper. Now consider an average government in this country and an excellent government in country which is not so rich in its resources. It is very likely in this situation that both the nations may do equally well or that the first nation is doing better that the second. In this scenario, the leader of the second nation are doing their best and their efforts are bearing fruits, but the same result can be achieved by the first nation with little effort. Thus the well being of citizens, alone, does not provide an unbiased scale to measure the leaderships.

Even if we assume for the moment that well being of citizens does depend on good governance alone, it becomes difficult to measure this “well being”. We may try to define well being in terms of happiness of citizens, but this in itself is subjective. If we define it in terms of per capita income, an objective quantity, then we need to ask if the wealth is almost uniformly distributed. If we try to define it in terms of availability of food and shelter for most of the population, then is this the result of industrious citizens or is it being provided by leadership. There are various factors like health care, crime rate and calamity control that can be added to the list. Even so, how does one go about evaluating such intangible qualities. Does a survey restricted to few citizens reflect the actual scenario? It can also be the case that the policies adopted by leaders is biased to towards urban areas, or it may show immediate results in urban localities. People in rural areas might not be well aware of the policies that the government has enacted for them. There may be many people who are always dissatisfied with the ruling party, no matter its action, blaming them of corruption and appropriation of government funds for every new policy they adopt. Because of censorious media that does little to appreciate the good, such cynicism among people is prevalent. Thus, not only is well being hard to define, but is also difficult to objectively measure.

Hence, effectiveness of leaders cannot be measured in terms of well being of citizens, as well being depends on many factors that may be extrinsic to leadership. There is no instrument that can take various factors into consideration and give a measure of “well being” eliminating all the biases that may exist in a system.