As per the writer, the quality of political awareness or disclosure have substantially decresed with recent impact of social media. I do not agree with writer.

Yes, In current times the impact of social media is pronounced in every field, as well as in politics. Political content is everywhere, be it on TV News Channel, Internet, Newspaper etc. But, it would be a stretch to say that with ever present political coverage on all the platform have declined the quality content of political discourse. In past, where politics was limited to news channel's debates to the news papers and handlful of people covering and presenting the politics, in present time there is no such distinction. Everyone is entilted to have their opinion and certainly with social media and blogs, they can present their views to a larger public.

Take for example, a youtube blogger, who is basically a comedian and his genre of comedy revolves around current day political affairs, he is one of the famous youtube blogger who thrives on politics and day to day affairs. He has been subscribed by over 14 million people all over the world and having reached to such large population and being liked by them clearly shows that people are interested in this new genre of political representation. Can we still say, if it has degraded the quality of political coverage? Certainly not, all he has done is to provide a new way of political awareness, which is interesting and eventually drive people to be more politically aware.

Another instance where a social networking platform being actively used by poeple to discuss and debate over current affairs, these discussions are open to all kind of people to participate , even people outside the US. with these platforms, debates which were limited to TV anchors and politicians are now open to all. Surely, this does increase the noise and possibilities of false media reports, but still enhancing awareness of the people using the social media platform.

With the emerging power of social media, the competition for TV new Channels for TRP and for new paper to have increasing sale, these media houses choose to politicize issues which are definately not required or to misrepresent certain issue to gain more sales, which is not morally right and eventually degrade the quality of political coverage, but to blame social media for this is definately a stretch.

In conclusion, Social media have open up more channels to discuss and create political contents and encourged people, not only in US, but also to other parts of the world, to participate in positive disscussion and debates, raised the awareness among all age groups about politics and thus increasing the quality of political disclosure. Although social media and blogs might have increased political noises, it is definately a stretch to blame social media for the declined quality of political coverage.