The emergence of online 'blogosphere' and social media has weakened the quality political discourse in united states

Media in any form plays a vital role in shaping and influencing the various spheres of a country. It can also have perpetual impact on the political discourse of the nation. With the advent of internet and the digiital age, social media and tools like blogs have given the people ( no matter from which background) to voice their opinions, ideas and share them with others at very effecttive and rapid pace. On one hand, there are people In United States who do noy buy the claim that with digital age quality of news has declined; they support the freedom of expression. But in reality, with burgeoning of unfiltered news and information sharing on internet; quality of political discourse has weakened.

For example, website of a news channel has an option that invites users or common people or critics to share their outlook on trending political issues. But common people are not always adept with insight regarding political system, policy making, administrative issues; hence their opinions are sometimes biased or are incomplete. Also online debates have promoted a lot of naive ideas and false reasoning among citizens of United States.

Post on social media by people tend to set up a wave which spreads among the friends and slowly among others people active on that social networking site, thereby setting the mood among people and shaping there line of thinking regarding political events happening in the country. For example, decision by the Us government to increase the prices of automobile fuels was met with huge criticism and social networking site 'Facebook' was repleted with remarks and post criticising the government. On the other hand there were cases of some experienced journalist ( having deep insight regarding policy making), who had vociferously come out and lauded the move of the government. They had properly explained reason and gratification behind the decision as measure necessary to curb fiscal deficit, which was necessary to boost languishing economic growth.

To conclude, though freedom of speech and expression propelled by the emergence of social media has helped citizens and critics in raising their voices on critical issues and acts of indiscrimination, but in case of political discourse and methods of covering news and political topics, it has seriously affected its proper functioning by deteriorating the quality of content and this decline in qualityand seriousness has been the result of unchecked freedom people enjoy in raising their views on the online 'blogosphere' and social media.