Every individual in a society has a responsibility to obey just laws and to disobey and resist unjust laws.

If we trace back to the origin of law enforcement it was evolved into consideration of nature of human beings. Human beings always tend to enjoy the freedom and always thrive to have freedom in doing their activities. This nature of human beings sometimes creates problems in regular functioning because it might happen that freedom for one individual might be bondage or slavery for another human being. Consider an example of the British invading India and ruling them for nearly 200 years. It was absolute freedom for the ruling British at one end and on the other, it was total oppression and slavery for the Indians.

In order to handle such situations, governments and lawmakers made few laws that were obediently to be followed by the individuals of the society. It included various types of laws rangining from driving with a proper driving license to laws against commiting henious crimes such as murder, terrorism etc. Any individual among the society not following the laws were subjected to punishment depending upon the severity of the law he/she has broken.

Now laws included both just laws and unjust laws. As the laws are enforced by the governing bodies of the society they expect that each and everything stated by them should be followed by the individuals of the society. As mentioned earlier that laws were initially structured to check the freedom of individuals of the society. For sure there would be some laws that wont be accepted by the society. Consider an example that a government-enforced a law that no industry should be within the city paramaters as it were harming the environment of the city and creating serious helath related problems to the city individuals. This law is bane for the industries whereas boon to the city residents.

Therfore industries try to disobey the unjust laws. Also if a law is imposed in which government wants to track each and every individual by monitoring their movement, credit card bills, social media accounts. Then for sure government is going to receive severe criticism and public will for sure tend to disobey the law.

Eventually weather this kind of laws are implemented depends on the government of the society. Consider an example of democratic form of government if many or unjust laws are enforced then the public might critize the lawmakers and then the government might or might not take back the decision , It totally depends on the government. But atleast there was a chance of criticism and government atleast hear to the individuals of the society.

On the other hand if the government is communist or dictatorial the individuals need to abide by the law weather it is just or unjust. They do not have a benefit of revolting against or disobeying the government.