Every individual in a society has a responsibility to obey just laws and to disobey and resist unjust laws.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Humans are social creatures. We have lived in a society since time immemorial, and have found that to live in a civilised society some form of legal order is necessary. This makes it the individual's responsibility to follow the laws of the society they exist in. However, they must also have the agency to disobey the laws they find unjust, to ensure freewill. I believe these two ideas need to coexist for any society to function. In this essay, I will raise two arguments in favour of this delicate balance of responsibility and freewill and one against.

To begin, the value system of a society is defined by its constituents and may not always be represented by the constitution or lawbook. It could simply be too outdated, or may be oppressing the rights of certain groups in society. At one point in time, it was illegal for African Americans to sit in the same part of the bus as their white counterparts even though they existed in the same society. Rosa Parks disobeyed that law one day and sparked the Civil Rights Movement in the USA, which led to a more equal society and a removal of several racist laws. If she had not obeyed this unjust, discriminatory law, perhaps the society in the US would be in a different place altogether and the legally sanctioned racism would continue.

Another point to consider is that laws exist for the people, and not vice versa. Individuals should be law abiding citizens, true, but the laws of humanity trump all other laws. In Nazi Germany, there was a range in the kind of individuals. Some were apathetic, only concerned with their own lives and did what they could to survive. Others were extremely loyal to the system, the most law-abiding and chose to enrol in the many divisions of the Nazi Party and contribute to the systemic horror that was the Holocaust. There was a third small section of society, rare individuals who chose to shelter Jews in their homes, against the law and at great mortal peril. They might have broken the laws of the society they lived in but they honoured the greatest law of all: humanity.

On the other hand, the question must be asked: When it comes to laws, what is just and what is unjust? Imagine some antisocial elements one day decide that they believe some laws are unjust and decide to stop obeying them. Soon they indict more and more people into this movement and large sections of society are disobeying laws at large. This would gradually lead to the breakdown of all social structure and the society would descent into anarchy. Nothing good would be wrought from this, only pain, chaos and destruction. Thus, giving people the agency to disobey laws they believe unjust might lead to the breakdown of society altogether.

To conclude, this is a really nuanced issue and there is no one “easy” answer here. In my opinion, the benefits do outweigh the cons of allowing people in a society to disobey laws they find unjust while being responsible law-abiding citizen otherwise.