A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The youth of any country are the ones that forge its future. Thus, not only does what is taught in school over the formative years shape up the youth, it also decides the future of the country. Many believe that a nation should mandate the same national curriculum for all its students until college. I mostly agree with this idea, and will be providing two reasons why, along with a counterpoint, in this essay.

Firstly, the benefits of a standardised national curriculum are obvious. It would be a great equaliser,ensuring that students irrespective of their background study the same content. Just imagine how great it would be that someone studying in a high-end metropolitan city's private school would study the same course material as someone from the remotest village's public high school. Thus, all barriers of class, caste, creed and gender would be removed and the only factor to differentiate people on would be their knowledge of the same curriculum. It would build a radical, forward thinking, equal society, and a certain level of knowledge can be expected from all its citizens.

Secondly, it would also greatly help with standardising college admission exams. In today's day and age with additional coaching or tutoring being the norm for college admissions, having a common national curriculum that the test can be based on would be a fantastic idea. It does not mean that everyone would give the same exam but rather that the same curriculum can be used to tailor admission tests as per their domain. For example, for prospective engineering majors, the test can be based upon the mathematics and science curriculum. Likewise, for a humanities major, the test can be focused on humanities subjects like history and political science. It would greatly simply the whole admission process for both the colleges as well as the students and eliminate the pesky and exploitative middle men lilke coaching classes or tutors.

On the other hand, it would be hard to build a general curriculum that can be adapted to all kinds of students. Children are unique and often, the content they learn needs to be tailored to their unique skillsets as well. For example, if a student was particularly talented as a musician but absolutely rubbish at mathematics, it would be qiute unfair to force them to study mathematics in depth for their entire schooling instead of music, which they obviously excel at. In such a case, the school years would be wasted time for the individual as they could have utilised the same time in a more flexible curriculum to hone their craft. Building a national curriculum that can work for everyone is thus, quite a challenge.

To conclude, the notion of a national curriculum at school level is a very complex one. In my opinion, it can be an amazing thing and lead to a much more equal, intelligence-driven society, simplify college admissions processes and more. I do however concede that it can be challenging to build a national curriculum that while being general can also be adapted to specific student's needs, and thus believe that this task needs to be handled with great delicacy and finesse to be considered successful.