Collectors prize the ancient life-size clay statues of human figures made on Kali Island but have long wondered how Kalinese artists were able to depict bodies with such realistic precision. Since archaeologists have recently discovered molds of human heads and hands on Kali, we can now conclude that the ancient Kalinese artists used molds of actual bodies, not sculpting tools and techniques, to create these statues. This discovery explains why Kalinese miniature statues were abstract and entirely different in style: molds could be used only for life-size sculptures. It also explains why few ancient Kalinese sculpting tools have been found. In light of this discovery, collectors predict that the life-size sculptures will decrease in value while the miniatures increase in value.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the prediction and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the prediction.

In this essay, collectors are predicting that the value of life-size ancient Kalinese sculptures will decrease while miniatures will increase due to the discovery of molds of human hands and heads by archaeologists in Kali. They present the difference in style between miniature and life-sized statues as well as the lack of Kalinese sculpting tools found as evidence for this prediction. I believe there are three questions that must be answered before considering this prediction a reasonable one.

The first question is, how do we know for sure that these molds were used to make all the life-size statues? It is possible that the artists only used the molds as some sort of basis before hand-making the statues. Maybe, some section of artists used these molds but others stuck to make their clay statues entirely by hand. If either of these proved true, it would mean that this prediction would become quite baseless, since there will still be valuable handmade life-size Kalinese statues in existence.

The second question is, why does the scarcity of ancient Kalinese sculpting tools imply that there were no specialised sculpting tools or techniques used in the creation of these statues? Perhaps, the tools that were utilised for making these statues have perished over the centuries. It is also possible that there were specialised techniques for making these statues, either using molds or otherwise that were only passed down in oral form and thus are not documented. If either of these was true, this lack of ancient sculpting tools would not be able to support this prediction, thus, weakening it.

The third question is, why would this discovery necessarily lead to an increase in the price of miniature Kalinese clay sculptures? While the miniature statues are abstract and the difference in style seems to point towards them being entirely handmade vis a vis the life size statues, it does not necessarily mean that they have become more valuable. Maybe, this discovery would actually fuel public interest in the life-size Kalinese statues, leading to an increase in the price of these statues instead. It is also possible that the miniature statues are not quite as well finished as the life-sized ones, being too abstract for the average person to prefer these over the life-sized ones, irrespective of the techniques utilised to create the statues. If either of these stands true, it would mean that the prediction of increase in price of miniature Kalinese statues is not very well substantiated.

In conclusion, the prediction as it stands is flawed and is not a reasonable one. If answers to these three questions could be provided along with supporting evidence, it would be easier to effectively evaluate if this prediction is reasonable or not.