every individual in a society has a responsibility to obey just laws and to disobey and resist unjust laws

The statement puts forth the argument that, in a society, every individual ought to obey fair laws & disobey unfair laws. While i believe in this argument to a reasonable degree, we must discuss in detail about the caveats as we promulgate this to folks in our ecosystem. We will expatiate, in greater detail, on some instances why the citizens ought to responsibly act according to their inner moral compass. The same shall help the civil society & the citizens further an element of rationality around us.

Firstly, we must obey the right laws & uphold to the best of our abilities to allow the beneficiaries to be protected by the law. Consider the abortion laws & their associated outcomes - the abortion laws accord the right of choice to women on suitably carrying & making decisions that impact their body during pregnancy. These laws enable a better society by allowing women to abort a fetus in case of an unwanted pregnancy or in cases of rape where the mother may not be in a state to conceive & parent a baby. While the opponents may believe that aborting a fetus, by upholding such laws, may be equivalent to killing a human life, we ought to evaluate the circumstance from a broader perspective. For instance, if a baby is born to a mother, who may not be able to provide basic needs of the kid in the kid’s formative years then this may lead to a precarious situation where the mother may have to relinquish her baby to the foster care system. This may lead to a circumstance where the mother is distraught because she has to give up her child, the child feels the lack of a mother figure & the family is equally upset. Such instances can disrupt the very social fabric of our society. If each stakeholder upholds & enables the access to reproductive healthcare to women & families, then we will herald a new era of emancipation of right to life for women. Hence we must uphold the right laws, irrespective of their impact on us, as individuals, because there may be a mother or a family that may need the invocation of such laws.

With recent changes in the abortion laws that restrict access to reproductive healthcare & abortion mechanisms at large, we ought to disobey peacefully - civil disobedience in a qualified manner such that our actions of disobedience does not cause civil unrest, violence. How else would such luminaries as Martin Luther King & Mahatma Gandhi have got their rights, if the stakeholders had not disobeyed. If we do not disobey today the new abortion rules, then we may have women giving birth to babies & relinquishing them to foster care, then state will have to parent them - this will increase the burden on the state finances. The children may suffer, due to the lack of a family, in their formative years. The state will never be able to replace a mother & a father. The changed laws may also impact the right to life of women since they will be forced to have babies even when the doctor may perceive a threat to life of the mother due to the delivery of the fetus. Hence we ought to obey the right rules & disobey the unfair ones in an appropriate manner, taking a cue from Rosa Parks & Mahatma Gandhi.

Secondly, as we enforce the said argument in our society, it will cultivate an inner moral compass to enable citizens to communicate, converse & question the policies in a rational manner. The citizens will understand how to discern between the fair & unfair laws, thereby developing a rationality to their decision making process. This will also enable our society to evolve a collaborative mechanism on issues where citizens have different opinions. For instance, Gun Laws are a polarising issue for many since a section of the society believes that we must be allowed the right to posses a firearm for self-defence while the other section believes that we must outlaw such a rule as we have seen many instance of mass gun shootings. Once we have a collaborative mechanism to engage different voices in the community, this will enable a bi-partisan solution for difficult circumstances.

Thirdly, we base this assumption of disobedience, to unjust laws, ought to be done in a civilised manner. The citizens must not engage in violent acts, or hampering essential services. For instance, if some sections of the society do not agree with current gun laws, they must protest peacefully. One must not be swayed by the unfairness & impair the law & order situation of the society. The same will not only create rift in the ecosystem but also dismantle the platform we seek to create for collaboration amongst different sects.

Hence, i believe that we must not only disobey unfair laws but also do so in a peaceful manner while upholding the fair laws. Such a demeanour will enable a more inclusive, safer society that can incorporate diverse viewpoints.