Every individual in a society has a responsibility to obey just laws and disobey unjust laws.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with

the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most

compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

This sentence emphasizes on a fact that society should follow just rules and discard unjust rules. It expounds this fact by giving each and every individual a responsibility to do the same. Justified rules do help societies to grow and harmonize. At the same time, unjustified rules will work in interest of a particular group while oppressing others.

It’s very clear that just rules will help each and every individual of a society. By following them, individual as a person is fulfilling his/her responsibility as a member of that society. However, being ignorant of unjust rules just because you are unaffected by them is an act of hypocrycy. Foe example, British government passed a law that production of salt from sea water will be taxable. There was an intense dissatisfaction within public, especially salt farmers. Gandhi took up a responsibility to abolish this unjust law by “non-violent” means. Gandhi was just a spark, as soon as general public was aware of this they also started disobeying it and what follows in history. What we need to learn from this example is that this rule did not affect Gandhi. He was a lawyer by profession and this rule did nothing affecting him personally, nevertheless he went ahead and fought for public. Similarly, we as an individual should always ask this question if a particular law is disinterested, even if it does not affect you personally.

However, sentence makes a big assumption by considering “disobeyance” of a law as a responsibility. As we know government of people imposing these unjust laws won’t allow common public to disobey a law. As an individual you don’t have power to disobey a law and not follow the consequences. You need help from wider audience. Once you foment general public what follows is a “revolution” and not responsibility. It is your responsibility to mark these unjust laws and make public aware of it. But revolution ends at a cost of human lives, loss of public properties and period of unrest. One should consider these facts while overthrowing unjust laws.

At the same time perception of just vs. unjust laws is not congruous within a public. What is just for one person might be unjust for another. One need to thing in interests of society as whole while marking laws as just or unjust. Otherwise, what follow is incongruity within a public and it will end with public violence and civil war.

This situation tells us that demarcation of laws as just or unjust is not an easy task. One should surely take up a responsibility to disobey unjust laws but only after making sure that in true sense it is unjust. At the same time, keeping all the above factors into consideration.