Every individual in a society has a responsibility to obey just laws and to

disobey and resist unjust laws.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or

disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to

address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to

challenge your position.

An anarchy may cause a lot of disturbance in the civilized human society and hence for smooth functioning of the society law and governance are essential.

Every citizen of the nation is obliged to follow the laws. Since childhood we are taught to follow certain rules like standing in the queue, sleeping on time and so on. These are not laws but basic rules and we know disobeying them will lead to disruption. Similarly, if laws are not followed then it might have many adverse effects on well- being of entire society. For instance, if traffic laws are not obeyed by the citizens, it can cause various happenstances. In financial markets if laws are not followed then we might have to return to monarchy where a powerful entity tries to persuade the poor and weak entity which may even lead to slavery, dictatorship, etc. Like-wise there are laws that are justified for is very purpose and it is responsibility of citizens to follow them. So for a civilized society to exits, rules are needed to be followed.

But rules might be unjust, for example, in India women are forbidden entering certain spiritual centres or temples. In some nations gay marriages are not allowed. In some Islamic states a man is allowed to marry multiple women and is also permitted to divorce his wife verbally. There are many such unjust laws existing in our society. Disobeying the unjust laws is according to me is a temporary solution. Attempts should be made in bringing about reforms by educating the people and government . There are many bills or proposals brought every year in order to lawfully replace the old and unjust laws with just laws. History is evident that as time passes we as humans are evolving and with changing times reforms are evident.

Also many times there are discrepancies concerning the laws or protocols that we follow. For example there might be some laws that seem justified to some section of the society, while others might not be of the same view. In such cases there has to be proper debates and contribution from cognoscenti to come with the solution regarding what laws are just and that should be followed. Government of the nation plays a vital role in administrating the laws and should periodically bring about reforms to be inline with the changing human era and rapidly growing technology.