Every successful leader has had to work with a team in order to achieve their success. Therefore, cooperation is an essential skill that must be demonstrated and instilled in the youth to prepare them for leadership in any area of interest. There are multiple reasons for this including the previosuly mentioned need of teamwork to achieve leadership, the need of teamwork as a leader to make the best decisions, and the need of a leader to work with his subordinates in order to create an efficient and happy system.

Cooperation with others is the base of all good organizations and companies. Many future leaders work their way up through the hierarchy of a business or industry in order to become the leader. At each level of the hierarchy, they must become part of the group and be successful. Some individuals try to compete with they peers and put themselves above others. Often, employers see and promote the individual that leads his peer group as a member of the group and not as a dictator over the group because they want that type of individual as part of their own team. That employer knows that the work often needs multiple ideas and differing opinions to have the best product or solution, which one individual can never offer alone.

A particular group that embodies the mindset of cooperating with varying ideas is the writers of the popular late night show Saturday Night Live. They have a policy that everyone can toss around and critique any idea of another writer because the bouncing of ideas through the minds of ethnically, morally, and racially different people from different backgrounds allows for the best jokes that appease every demographic. Many succesful leaders strive for this group dynamic when putting together an advisory board. The diverse board and cooperation allows for everybody to put in their best ideas and for the best results to come from the meetings. The business or industry grows when all the members work together to promote the ideas that come from a back and forth compromise as opposed to a linear downfall when one individual feels the need to compete and show their power when they are in leadership. This only causes them to promote their well being over the success of everyone.

The success of a company is often dependent on the employees, not just the leader. When the leader does not work with their employees, but instead forces his or her power over them, businesses often fail because employees do not invest in the company. One business that demonstrates ideal cooperation is a financial investing firm that has the belief that no one is above critiques, as long as they are constructive. The company founder started this belief because he was tired of having leadership always believing they were right, which led to the failures of the previous firm where he worked. A perfect example of this is one meeting where a subordinate came up to the company founder and CEO and stated that the meeting was way too long, the CEO did not seem to be prepared, and he just rambled. The CEO in response sent out an email asking others at the email to thoughtfully assess his meeting and he received a letter grade of a D. He responded with a thank you, and apology, and a list of ideas he has to make the next meeting he presents to be better for everyone. This type of cooperation creates a successful workplace environment where the employees feel connected to decisions and cared about by leaders in the company.

Cooperation by leaders is important because it helps in many ways. Leaders must work with others on their way to gaining a leadership role, once they reach that role to have a successful think-tank, and as a leader with subordiantes to show that the success is everyone's responsibility and goal. Cooperation over competition has shown to create more successful leaders and companies many times because of one main theme: when competition is the goal, someone else must lose, when cooperation is the goal, everyone succeeds.

Every successful leader has had to work with a team in order to achieve their success. Therefore, cooperation is an essential skill that must be demonstrated and instilled in the youth to prepare them for leadership in any area of interest. There are multiple reasons for this including the previously mentioned need of teamwork to achieve leadership, the need of teamwork as a leader to make the best decisions, and the need of a leader to work with his subordinates in order to create an efficient and happy system.