The first step to self-knowledge is rejection of the familiar.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The journey of self-discovery is an arduous path. Being able to discover your ownself is by carving your own path out of the wilderness. Thus, having the understanding of yourself starts from rejecting the all too familiar. This is the position I will espouse in this essay for the following reasons.

Firstly, one must be able to ditch previous perceived knowledge in order to have a clear insight to get new knowledge. An analogy that perfectly describes this is that one cannot fill an already-filled cup. To fill the cup, one must empty the cup of previous content first before filling it with new content. Similarly it is difficult for one to recognize new directins for growth when his mind is still beclouded with previous knowledge, thoughts and beliefs. However, if the one on the journey of self-discovery is able to jettison the familiar, only then will he be able to get a good grasp of the novel.

Secondly, rejecting the familiar is necessary to keep an open mind. An open mind is like an empty notebook, waiting to be filled. A good example is when a child is still at infancy. Infants are open minded and ready to learn new things because they have no previous knowledge. Thus, children tend to ask a lot of insightful questions. Similarly, to develop proper self-knowledge, it will be necessary for the one seeking to know himself to be able to ask the right questions. This will be achieved by keeping an open mind. Keeping an open mind is in turn, dependent on the readiness to question anything and everything, the familiar and the unfamiliar, the hackneyed and the pristine in the quest for self-knowledge.

However, this position may not apply in all cases. Occasionally, instead of starting on a fresh note may not be the best. Instead, it would be more propitious to build on previous knowledge. For example, a graduate of engineering seeking to reinvent himself as a businessman doesn't have to necessarily abandon all his previous knowledge. Instead, he can build upon his technical knowledge and use it to create a business based on that.

In conclusion, in order to discover oneself, one must be ready to reject the things he is used to in order to understand his own personality and grow in new directions.