Following appeared in a memo from the president of Bower Buildings:

In the memo, the president of Bower Builders concludes that they should increase the size of family rooms and kitchen and also exclude dining rooms from new homes to increase sales and profits. To strengthen his argument he cites a survey's results, which concludes that large family room and a large kitchen are the two most desired features. He also mentions that houses containing such features from Domus Construction have sold faster. And finally states that according to suggestions of many recent buyers: a dining room from new houses can be excluded. I believe that memo does not contain enough evidences and strong arguments to accept the points suggested by the president.

First of all, the survey results have to be verified. Although the president mentions that it was contained nation-wide, the does not provide any numbers to strengthen arguments. For an example, it's not mentioned the survey that how many people took part in it, the age, gender of participants, family size of such people and most importantly the randomness of any participant.

Secondly, the president wrongly concluded that a large kitchen and family room are expected features of any buyer. Maybe, these features depend totally on the size of family and also vary person to person. Maybe, some small families prefer large bedrooms and extra balcony, but large kitchen is not at all their requirement. Also, the overall budget of the buyer also yields in his ideas.

Thirdly, the president states that Domus Constructions sold more houses with such features. But, there are no evidences in what areas these deals have been done. Also how truthful the data is, as clearly mentioned that Domus Constructions are their competitors. Maybe, Domus Const. always sold the houses with such features and Bower Builders have loyal consumers for their stereotyped houses.

Fourthly, the idea of excluding dining room is not at all feasible. As, early mentioned such things totally depends on mindset of buyer and his/her family. There is no clear evidence that Bowers' have seen decline in home with a dining room. Without getting the clearer inputs from various buyers for long term, no such decision can be taken.

In sum, that the arguments presented by the president are not sufficient to bring any change suggested. The arguments could have been strengthened by providing more statistical details about survey conveyed. Also, Bowers Builders themselves could have conveyed a survey about providing large family rooms and kitchens.