The following appeared in a memo from a vice president of a large, highly diversified company.

"Ten years ago our company had two new office buildings constructed as regional headquarters for two regions. The buildings were erected by different construction companies—Alpha and Zeta. Although the two buildings had identical floor plans, the building constructed by Zeta cost 30 percent more to build. However, that building's expenses for maintenance last year were only half those of Alpha's. Furthermore, the energy consumption of the Zeta building has been lower than that of the Alpha building every year since its construction. Such data indicate that we should use Zeta rather than Alpha for our contemplated new building project, even though Alpha's bid promises lower construction costs."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The vice president states in the memo that the company intends to hire Zeta for the new building project in spite of lower construction costs bid by Alpha. The supporting evidence for this argument is that even though Zeta's budget was hire for the construction, maintenance costs and energy consumption of the Zeta building was lower than the Alpha building. At the outset, these evidence seem justified, but there are some unanswered questions that first need to be addressed before going through with the proposed plan.

First of all, the author of the memo does not consider natural regional differences that could have affected the costs incurred in these buildings. There is no information on the regional characteristics of the area where the buildings are situated, which could significantly affect costs. For all we know, the simple reason that Zeta's building cost 30 percent more could be because it is located in a mountainous region or the ground was not level. Topological discrepancies could have easily incurred differences in cost. With this logic in mind, the weather conditions of each region could have just have easily affected the difference in maintenance budgets. The fact that Zeta building's maintenance expenses were lower than Alpha's last year could be because there was an unexpected amount of huge rainfalls in Alpha building's region, causing this building's expenses to go up. Furthermore, the Zeta building could be located in a tropical area where the range of the temperature isn't significant, but the yearly weather in the Alpha building's location could differ from extreme colds in the winter to scorching desert-like heat in the summer. This could tremendously affect the huge energy consumption of the Alpha building. Unless topological characteristics and weather conditions are accounted for each building, the memo's evidence is essentially weak.

Regarding regional differences, man-made discrepancies could have also played a part in the result. Once again, since there is no information on where each of these building are located, how the laws are enacted in each area is not provided either. The construction cost for the Zeta building could have been higher because the area had numerous strict regulations causing the company to pay fines and various payments for permits. They could have stronger rules because earthquakes are frequent in the region, requiring the need for more sturdy buildings. As for maintenance costs, the Alpha building could be located in a more metropolitan area which has just raised its bills for water and electricity last year. Unless the vice president traces down the rules and regulations of each region, which are crucial factors for costs, the evidence given is not conclusive.

Also, the difference in energy consumption could simply be because of the different types of work carried out in each building. Even though the floor plan is the same for both buildings, as the company is highly diversified, each branch could be working in a different industry. The reason for high energy consumption for the Zeta building could be because it is an IT division, and they have placed servers which have to be run 24 hours everyday. On the other hand, the offices in the Alpha building could be more reliant on manual labor, which wouldn't consume energy as much as the branch in the Zeta building. Therefore, the information about what each branch in each building does should be considered in order to make sure the vice president has made an informed decision.

In conclusion, even though the given memo seems to make a cogent case, when investigated deeply, there are many flaws and missing evidence that need to be provided firsthand. There is so much information that we don't know about the characteristics of the regions, topological and legal, and what the offices in each building does. More detailed information about the elements that affect the costs in the building should be given first.