The following is an excerpt from a speech given to the School Board about a change to the curriculum:

"Because the future will be dominated by technology, we must make four years of computer programming mandatory for all high school students. If our students take these classes, they’ll all be able to get high-paying programming jobs and lead fulfilling lives because software engineers and data scientists have the best job prospects and salaries. Therefore, we must educate our students so they can secure these kinds of jobs. Even if they pursue other careers, programming will still benefit them, given that all industries are becoming more technological."

In the past twenty years, there have been a lot of advances in technology and technology now consumes a lot of our daily lives. Computer programmers have played a big part in advancing technology as they have developed technological tools like phone applications and websites. Even though computer programmers are very important to our society, this speech to the schoolboard is lacking evidence to make the argument that high school students be required to take four years of computer programming.

Currently many computer programmers have high paying jobs, but if more students focus on computer programmers then the demand for these jobs would go up and it's not clear that there will be enough jobs for these students. Evidence needs to be provided that there is enough demand for computer programming jobs if all of these students study computer programming. With more of a supply of computer programmers, companies could also pay the computer programmers less because the supply is higher. There should be research done to see if companies would keep paying high salaries if more students work in the computer programming industry.

Another assumption that the author makes is that the students will have fulfilling lives if they have the best job prospects and salaries. Having a good job can be helpful in life, but there are a lot of other factors that lead to a fulfilling life. Some of these factors are how strong the relationships with one's friends and family and quality of a one's mental health. There should be evidence of studies that show that people with better jobs lead more fulfilling lives.

This speech also talks about how programming will benefit students even if they work in another line of work, but there is no evidence in this speech that this is true. The speech says that all industries are becoming more technological, but there needs to be evidence to back up this claim. Even if all industries are being more technological, it is not necessarily true that computer programming will help in these industries. In technological professions, there are other positions such as Operations Managers and Accountants that don't need computer programming.

If the future is dominated by technology, then it might be helpful to have more computer programmers. To help in making the decision of making computer programming mandator for all high school studnets, there needs to be evidence that high paying jobs leads fulfilling lives and that there will be enough supply of programming jobs for these students.