"The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the presented argument, it is stated that according to a report the number of people who attended Super-Screen produced movie is less than that of any other year but the positive reviews by the movie viewers have increased. So the advertising director believes that the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough to their prospective viewers. Hence he concluded that the quality of the movie is not the problem but the lack of awareness among the people is and thus allocating a greater share of the budget in advertising would help them reach the public by the next year. Anyway, I feel this conclusion is based on a vaguely presented set of information, to substantiate my claim I would like to present few points.

Firstly, considering the report from the marketing department of which we are not sure how reliable it is, because it doesn't mention what part of the country of the state the report has covered while preparing it. Maybe they have only taken a single city into consideration. Hence, from other places, the people were actually attending the movies but the reports failed to cover it. Therefore in this instance spending more on the advertisements would be ludicrous.

Secondly, the argument mentions the percentage increase in the number of reviews from the last year but it doesn't give clear numeric data out of how many people the movie received positive reviews. If five out of ten people have voted positive it becomes fifty percentage which is certainly more than forty out of a hundred people so this data. Therefore, the percentage increase nowhere implies that the number of positive reviews is greater than the lasts year's review. Also, it says nothing clearly regarding the quality of the movies.

However, if the reviews are considered to be more than last year it doesn't say can't be concluded that they are not reaching the prospective viewers maybe they are not interested in that particular genre thus they are avoiding that movie. Other than that it is also possible that there were many other good movies coming up in the same year so they ignored the reviews. In such cases, how much ever amount of advertisements the company do won't matter because the people already have something else in their mind.

Hence, I would like to draw to the attention of the advertising director towards looking for more accurate data and cross verify his facts which will save him from making a rash decision.