Formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Formal education has a long history even since 1000 years ago according to research reporting there were academies to convey experts’ knowledge and opinions. However, how perceiving formal education is quite different depending on educationists. Although some insist that formal education restricts having free minds and spirits, the opposite view seems more persuasive.

Firstly, sometimes creativity comes from what is formal. There is a stereotype that is in common thought as having free sprits: inventors. Some people argue that inventors are those who barely affected by the subjects many people normally learned in school as formal education as they sometimes bring somewhat totally new, never seen before. However, it is not true: the basic thoughts and ideas are almost coming from scientific concepts acquired from formal education. In shorts, formal education partially devoted to inventors’ creativity. Hence, it shows the argument that formal education is detrimental to free spirits cannot hold water.

Secondly, freedom is allowed when it is acceptable in general. There is a myth that free minds and spirits mean doing whatever he or she wants without considering how the result will be good or bad. However, it is wrong: if so-called free minds and spirits are related to somewhat not allowed such as using weeds, stealing, or killing someone, it is not a free spirit but just a crime. In order to have minds and spirits which can be accepted as free, one needs to certain the boundary they should not be over, and it can be acquired from formal education. Thus, formal education actually helps someone to have free minds and spirits in a salubrious boundary.

On the other hand, it has been reported that some students with formal education showed that they have difficulties in conducting somewhat creative activities. However, it seems not simply due to formal education but due to exclusion of contents such as how to think creatively, how to get rid of thinking barriers, and how to build previous ideas more original.

To sum up, although some might see the reported restrained thoughts from students who have received formal education indicate its restriction to free minds¸ it does not simply due to the problem innate to the way of education. Furthermore, there is significant evidence that formal education is actually related to free minds and spirits. Therefore, the given prompt cannot be agreed upon.