Formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The prompt says that formal education limits the student’s mind and his/her spirits. However, I strongly disagree with the prompt. The formal education has formidable benefits if compared to the informal one, particularly to whom in young age, for the following reasons.

First, formal education has benefits as it is systematic, standardized, and it has trained teachers. The student during his/her study years learns and acquires experience to choose the appropriate educational way which is suitable for his/her skills. Without helping such a systematic education system; the student won’t be able to recognize the strength and weakness areas. For example, at formal education, teachers are trained to teach the students different aspects of subjects which deal with life sciences, history, mathematics, and biology. All these different subjects are essential to the students for understanding the world science and different fields. Therefore, the students will able to discern their strong areas and which field they want to continue. Quite the opposite, in informal education, the student has the freedom to choose any subjects. Some of the students at the young ages wouldn’t have the awareness to choose which subject is suitable for their skills. In addition, in informal education, some teachers are not be educated and trained to deal with different ages of students and as a result, they will not be efficient to advise each student what commensurate him/her.

Second, in informal education, the student learns how to be a commitment as this type of education is organized and supervised by the government. For example, formal education is based on classroom attendance and if the student exceeded the allowed absence hours or days; he will be affected and his final grades. Therefore, the formal education helps the student to be committed and follow the guidelines and this will not limit the student’s spirit, on the contrast, this kind of organization help the student to be ordered and discover more about his skills.

In conclusion, formal education let the student find out his/her strong areas by studying different backgrounds and then can choose which area has a passion for it. And by the following the guidelines of the formal education, the student will learn how to organize his life and gives his mind more room to creative.