Formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

There have been several debates regarding the connections between education and creativity. Some people believe that it is necessary to be formally educated on a subject before one can be creative at it, while others believe that formal education is a limiting factor to creativity. The prompt looks into this contention and argues that formal education tends to restrict people’s minds instead of setting them free. I mostly disagree with this claim for two reasons which I will elucidate below. However, I do concede that there are situations where formal education tends to pose restrictions on human minds.

To being, formal education in the real sense is incomplete without the inclusion of activities like experimentation and projects, all of which foster creativity. Most people tend to attribute ‘formal education’ to a term that only means going to school and sitting in a class to receive lectures. However, the main definition of formal education may be incomplete without incorporating the aspects of research and experimentation. For instance, before someone can be granted an award for completing a formal degree in any discipline, he or she must have carried out a project. This condition is imposed so as to ensure that the core essence of formal education is up-holded. Students must be able to apply and think independently, rather than in the shackles of the classroom lectures, about the things they can do about all concepts they have learnt in their program. By doing this, formal education indeed liberates students in their thinking abilities, rather than restrict people’s minds as the prompt suggests.

Secondly, formal education gives the best structure for students, and helps to prepare them in the best way possible for future success. Formal education, in most cases, gives structure to students on how to go about different tasks in their field. Although it is possible for an uneducated person in field to also succeed, it might require extra efforts and such person might be at a higher risk of doing things wrongly since the underlying formal procedures on the subject is not known. In essence, formal education helps to prepare people for tasks ahead by presenting possible scenarios that might be encountered after studies. With these activities, students can think radically after school, and apply these events to new things they come across in the future.

Admittedly, formal education does not necessarily guarantee creativity, and tend to restrict people’s mind in some cases. For instance, there are conditions whereby teachers allow their students to reproduce exactly what they are being taught in the class directly in an exam without changing any words. This might restrain students who have new ideas about a topic and hinder innovation in such field.

To conclude, formal education does not restrain students mind because amongst the activities involved to complete a formal degree, there are several activities that tend to increase creativity and set people’s minds free. Also, formal education gives structure which students can follow without inhibiting creativity. However, there are cases whereby formal education might hinder the developments of some special students and restrict their creativity by putting them in the confine of the formal education system.