Formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

There is no doubt to concede that education shapes our mind and way of thinking significantly. With the help of formal education or textbook knowledge, we can attain our dream job or other means of success. However, the prompt argues that our course curriculum intends to narrow our thinking ability and our intellectual power whereas it should amply them. In my opinion, I feel that formal education can free our mind and spirit if it is not forced to anybody. But informal education like the knowledge from our surroundings is also required to broaden our outlook. I will illustrate my opinion with three specific examples.

First of all, can we trigger our curiosity without the help of textbook knowledge in the current decade? The answer will be no. Although many scientists and academicians have from the horse and buggy generation became successful without the help of adequate educational background, it is not thinkable now. We are now living in a society where we have to bring innovation daily. For example, people hardly could believe that COVID-19 vaccine would be available just within 1 year after it spreads. But, the scientists have made this happened. COVID-19 is a novel type of virus and it requires lots of study and experimentation to make the vaccine effective. If we blindly support the prompt that formal education only restrains our thoughts, the vaccination process would never be possible, it will seem like a haughty derision. From this discussion, it can be inferred that formal education does not restrict our creativity or spirits.

Secondly, formal education can identify the best thinker and creative mind from the young generation. Without formal teaching, there is hardly any viable option on which we may rely to select the most suitable minds to think free. For example, Google Inc. always claims that they hired their employees based on their superior imagination capability. It might be whimsical to select a layman to do complex programming: he neither has the need nor the ability to do these type of tasks. On the other hand, a graduate who spent hours after hours for learning programming and built up his ability to solve complex problems, is the most preferred person for this job. From the above discussion, once again it is apparent that formal education is not an impediment for spiritual thinking and free mind.

Nonetheless, it will be inchoate platitude to terminate the response without underscoring the weightage of informal education in our day to day life. Although formal education plays the pivotal role, it is the informal or the societal learning of a human being that helps him to develop his instincts and judge which is good and which should be ignored. For instance, many volunteer organization come up with the idea of "one buck meal" in Bangladesh to help the distressed people during the lockdown waive. Our formal curriculum does not teach it, but our society and family can do that by spreading informal knowledge among us. So, in order to think freely and with full spirit, informal education should be prioritized with importance as well.

To conclude, it is inarguably true that education is the crying need for our mental growth. Although many people blatantly feel that scopes of formal education is becoming tiny day by day, I believe otherwise. Besides, I also feel the necessity of informal education along with the formal textbook wisdom to become independent, intellectual and a free thinker.