Formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and s

There is no shortage of opinions regarding if formal education limits our ability to thinking or set it free, what makes this issue a contentious one. While each opinion has its strengths and weaknesses, I strongly believe that formal education is essential to empower us to analyse and propose solutions to several of daily problems we face in our lives, thus freeing our minds and spirits.

First of all, there is no doubt that formal education provide by schools and universities gives us many important tools to tackle most of the hardest issues that challenges our society. For example, without an outstanding ground in mathematics and physics it would be impossible to have so wonder buildings we have today. Indeed, the knowledge of calculus is a fundamental tool to make designers able to to project unbelievable building shapes like those we can see in Dubai and other modern cities. Thus, the deep understaning of some matters undoubtfuly can open new possibilities and freeing our minds to develop new things.

The second reason supporting my position is that formal education broaden our knowledge towards complimentary matters, helping us to think in a wider perspective about any problem. For example, in Brazil all formal education of engineering include in their curriculum some courses of economics. This obly future engineers to expand their minds to approach complex demands of the society by providing not just feaseble but also cost-effective solutions. Moreover, the contact with new subjects provide in formal education make people free to decide what enphasys one should have in your career. This worker with me, for ecample. As a telecommunications engineer that have had contact with economics in the college, I decided to focus my carrer on telecommunications economics.

On the other hand, one may argue that formal education is used to have a very restrict curriculum that doesn't give room for creative and diversity in preapration of new professionals. Nevertheless, this point is really flawed because most of the curriculum of formal undergraduate and graduate degrees requires engagement in a number of "free choice" courses. With this flexibility, formal education assure students a broaden knowledge. For example, in my formal education as enginner, I had the oportuniy to complete a course of Brazilian official sign language, what helps me today to comunicate with clients with limitations to speak and hear.

To sum up, based on the aforementioned reasons, I definitely holds the opinion that formal education more frees our minds and spirits to think out of the box than limits or restricts us anyhow.