The general welfare of a nation's people is a better indication of that nation's greatness than are the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

On a scale measuring the greatness of a nation, general welfare including that of wealth distribution, literacy levels and life expectancy is arguably a better measure or indication than that of the achievements of its rulers, artists and scientists.

Should the greatness of a nation be made up of the greatness of its individual parts, the eye would usually fall upon the general welfare of its people. After all, the greatness of a minority may not reflect upon the wider view of a nation. For example, life expectancy affects that of all in the nation, as is literacy levels, wealth distribution and non-material standards of living including happiness and satisfaction. Most of these general welfare indicators take average, median and mode values representing the greatness of a country.

However, in different circumstances, the achievements of its rulers, artists and scientists are a better measure of a country’s greatness, especially if the developed country is beyond bread-and-butter issues such as livelihood. The achievements of scientists may imply the nation’s greatness in the creativeness of its people or the success of a nation’s educational system. One example is the space race, in which scientific talents are recruited from all around the world. The first achievements made in space, such as moon landing, are often a testament to the innovative and scientific potential of the country, and therefore is patriotically celebrated by the nation’s people.

In past times, the greatness of a nation would have been measured by the achievements of its rulers, including that of monarchies and imperialistic countries. Countries that sought to expand their geographical boundaries were often seen as more powerful due to greater resources and manpower. The greatness of a nation often rode on the backs of the prestige of heads of state including kings and queens, where greater bargaining power often came from resources such as looted land and traded items.

The achievements of artists can also be a good indicator of the greatness of a country during tumultuous times like war. The Renaissance era of art birthed artists such as Giovianni in the wake of violent and trying wars, whereas the peacetime era of Switzerland gave us the beautiful, but halcyon Swiss clock. Art, as an expression of the strength of a nation’s people during trying times, can be a sign of perseverance and survival of a nation.

Nevertheless, the argument that a nation’s greatness is made up of its individual parts persists through developing stages, space races, monarchies and wars. The achievement of its rulers, artists and scientists, while impressive, is a minority that simply depicts a slice of life that is greatly linked to the general welfare of its people. The precursor is that the achievement of its rulers, artists and scientists should be considered second to the general welfare of a nation’s people when to comes to measuring greatness.