The general welfare of a nation's people is a better indication of that nation's greatness than are the achievements of its rulers, artists, or scientists.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disag

A nation is the embodiment of its people. We can't talk about a nation without talking about its people. Naturally, nations vary in attributes as they are formed in different circumstances. Some have great cultural richness to show, others can boast their scientific feats and still others, their history. If we were to gauge a nation's greatness, we must be shrewd to select parameters on which such nations can be unambiguously compared. The general welfare of a nation is an apt parameter for such kind of endeavor.

The achievements of certain people can't speak for the greatness of a whole nation, be it scientists, artists or rulers. A nation's growth is dependent upon its public far more than any distinct individual. For instance, the middle east was the seat for great kingdoms for many centuries. Also, it was credited to have been a mathematical hot-spot, spurning mathematicians and algebra. Irrespective of these, the region now is ravaged in war, suffering from human indignities. The causes for this can be pinned to the public's dissatisfaction of governance and the state in general, more confidently than anything else. Radical groups have sprung up, because of lack of opportunities and penury among the youth of these nations.

Now in contrast, let's look at the history of the small island of Singapore. Even after having such meagre resources and geographical constraints, this nation sprouted as a technological n' economical hub. The fervent people of this nation notably were responsible for their turnaround. Even though they did not have as many great achievers to show, their developed societies and edge in technology easily peg them as having an atmosphere coveted by many others in Asia.

Many developed nations do have its fair share of great people to pride about. Indeed, they can be used as evidence as to how deserving their culture and society is. Most of the European countries have a rich and great history behind them. Same can be said about almost all the rich and developed nations. But relating greatness of the nation with a bunch of its high achievers is a folly. South Korea's or as a matter of fact Japan's economic dominance didn't come through because there were a lot of great people working to usher it, but because the general mass of these very nations toiled to ameliorate their life standards. The respective governments took specific steps in terms of policies to goad them on, while their culture and society was postured to prove conducive to the whole effort. Even if a few great people did contribute to such revolutions, the whole credit cannot be taken by them. These nations achieved unprecedented level of public welfare in Asia and around the world.

A nation can produce great artists, rulers and scientists by happenstance (which is quite rare) or thorough its social systems. The latter is way more likely to occur. Germany for example had great scientists in the early twentieth century, who made her the center of theoretical research. These scientists though can be thought of as the product of the German academic institutions and cultural nuances. The German institutes at that time were reputed as being the best in their discipline, while the public is respected as having a taste for 'reason'. All this is intimately related with the welfare of the public from which these great humans seemingly came. Hadn't the society developed into cherishing knowledge and innovation by insuring a basic standard of living for its public. Most of these people would have been embroiled with matters more trivial than these. Exactly what her history witnessed during the first and second World War.

General welfare is the most unambiguous parameter thorough which a nation's greatness can be measured. It gives a better understanding of the average guy's life in it and how people of that nation collectively better themselves.