Government funding for purely scientific endeavors should be reduced in order to direct more function towards humanitarian science project.

The prompt propounds that more government funding should be directed towards humanitarian science research project while reducing the funding to purely scientific projects. This claim is too broad, and I claim that the decision of which research projects should receive more funding cannot be determined by just the kind of science involved in the project. Rather, purely scientific research can have long term benefit not obvious. And comparisons have to made in a case by case basis to decide funding allocation.

Purely science research can help facilitate the development of other humanitarian research. Specifically, some purely scientific research is the foundation of other humanitarian research. For example, Mendel’s result from the research on the law of genetics opened the gateway to many humanitarian research that helped millions of people. Genetically modified or enhanced food crops enables farmers to work less but still receive a reliable bountiful harvest each year. But when Mendel was conducting his experiment, it was purely scientific, and it is not clear whether his research will benefit human at large or not. And this is the nature of science. Similarly, right now we cannot claim with certitude that humanitarian research will benefit the society more and purely scientific ones will less. We should not reduce funding to project just because it is purely scientific.

Many purely scientific research projects might not benefit human society right away, their results are so impressive that they inspire the young generation to participate in science. I was and still am a big fan of space exploration. I was a child when China sent her first human to space. Sitting at the TV watching the footage of the astronaut floating in space, I was driven to become a scientist and participate in such a project myself. Now I am graduating college with a major in mathematics, I am sure that the footage of a man in space was one of reason I chose my study. It should not be a surprise that many more young minds were attracted to science by news of space exploration or wonder of number theory. These research projects might be purely scientific and their benefit to human being might be obscure. They increased the amount of people interested in science and one of them might be the one who make a breakthrough in some important humanitarian research topic.

However, when there is a humanitarian research project that would immediately save society of a catastrophe, more funding should be funneled to those projects at the expense of the purely scientific ones. Imagine a scenario where there is an epidemic outbreak that in endangering large pocket of population, then large sum of funding should be devoted to the research of disease prevention rather to projects like space exploration. This is clear if we consider the consequence of the lack of funding would do for these two project. Large amount of people might perish if humans cannot find a cure at enough. But lack of money would only delay our progress in colonizing Mars for a few years. We should devote funding to the humanitarian project. However, these extreme cases occurs rarely.

In summation, government should not reduce funding to purely scientific research just because they are purely scientific. Rather, a comparison of cost and benefit of the projects at hand should be conducted in order to decide on a case by case basis.