Government officials should rely on their own judgment rather than unquestioningly carry out the will of the people they serve.

Government officials should definitely rely on their own judgment rather than unquestioningly carry out the will of the people they serve because people would be thinking from their point of view. They want their needs to be fulfilled whether it be bad for the government.

The government officials should look into the matter by not only considering the views of a particular group of people, instead of concerning everyone’s interest while making a decision. The government functions with the help of funds they receive from the people, thus catering to the needs of only a few, will be a betrayal for others. For instance, during the days of draught, If a person approaches an official to explain the water scarcity problem in his area and demands for regular water supply in his house, for this grievance if the official agrees to provide regular water tanker service for his area, it would be partiality with the others who are facing the similar problem.

It is the responsibility of the government official to be unbiased in making decisions. He needs to think in all aspects before addressing any issue and avoid cursory decisions. For instance, In Bishnoi, a small town in Rajasthan, India "Chipko movement" took place. The people protested against deforestation by hugging the trees so as to prevent them from being cut. Hence if the government officials would have well thought through before making a cursory decision of recklessly cutting the trees listening to the views of only a few and dominating those of others, this protest won't have happened. Thus, it is very important for the government official to be unbiased and rely on his own judgement without letting others hamper his thoughts.

The government officials are there to serve the needs of people, but to fulfil those needs it is important that they are not affecting others interests. They have full access to government funds and have authority to use it wisely to serve the people. If an officer is to give compensation to people for their lands, which will be used by the government to carry out some project. In this case, the people will definitely demand more, but here it is in the hands of the official to assign appropriate compensation amount corresponding to their lands. Thus, it is very important for the official to think rationally and be stubborn on his own judgement rather than unquestioningly carry out the will of the people he serves.

In conclusion, I will say that the claim is very correct in all aspects that the Government officials should rely on their own judgment rather than unquestioningly carry out the will of the people they serve. As they are responsible to face the consequences of decisions they make.