The government should provide funding to the arts to ensure that they can flourish.

Few people choose the become artists in order to make money. In fact, turning a profit as any cultural institute, whether a gallery or a theater has proved increasingly difficult in recent years. The rise of streaming services and the internet means that few people are willing to pay for the luxury of attending an opera. This serves to further discourage artists from pursuing their vocation and as institutes must mark up their prices to remain solvent, makes the arts less affordable for many. As such it is imperative that the government take an active role in financially supporting artistic ventures, not only to insure them from insolvency, but also to allow them to flourish.

Many would agree that culture is the beating heart of a culture. When we look back at our cultural icons we often see great musicians, talented painted or virtuoso composers. Yet despite this near universal consensus on their importance the life of these artists has often not been simple. As an artist, one’s wage is often contingent on finding powerful benefactors. When these are not available, artists are often doomed to a life of misery and pecuniary. Consider the brilliant Vincent Van Gogh. Today his works are sold for millions of dollars, however, few appreciated his works during his lifetime and he died forlorn and poor. Is this the fate we wish upon our own artists?

Furthermore, leaving artistic institutions to the whims of the free market often turns them into luxury goods for many. A theater or opera in order to survive often have to sell tickets for prices that are simply unaffordable for many. This serves to increase socio-economic inequalities as it makes the arts accessible only to the highest strata of society. It is likely that someone who earns minimum or even the average wage in his state has never even stepped foot in an opera house! If we truly believe that arts are so important why should we restrict their enjoyment only to our richest citizens?

Nevertheless, a reasonable person could point out the threat posed by government funding to the arts – a risk of political manipulation. Israel a country where government funding for the arts in plentiful has often been accused on funding based on political affiliations. When a predominantly Arab theater staged a piece about the life of a Palestinian terrorist in Israeli jail, the culture minister decided to cut its funding, thus threatening its very existence.

While this argument surely has merit, it is important to remember that art funding too can have clear criteria that can prevent political manipulation. After all, the United States is able to afford its citizens numerous welfare measures, such as medicare and unemployment benefits, without the risk of political patronage. Thus the risk of posed by putting the arts under the government’s yoke appears to be greatly exaggerated.

Just as we provide certain medical benefits to our citizens, so should the government provide subsidies for the arts. If culture is indeed the heart of the nation, we want to make sure it can beat healthily. After all, a nation with no culture is no nation at all.