Governments must ensure that their major cities receive the financial support they need in order to thrive.

Reason: It is primarily in cities that a nation's cultural traditions are preserved and generated.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Every contry’s government needs to fund it’s cultural strong points in order for them to be more developed.While in the promt it is stated that they need to financially help only the major cities , my opinion is different.I believe that ,even though most of them have the largest population and are more famous , the smaller towns are way more rich in culture and they need the biggest help in order for their traditions to be preserved and recognized.

To begin with , most of the villages have some amazing features which have not yet been discovered due to the fact that the government is focused only on commercial attention which comes from big cities.For example ,most of them have a specific dialect which is different from the other parts of the country.These languages are almost extinct because more and more people are leaving these rural places to move in to more urban areas.For instance , in Albania there is a small village whose inhabitants have been living there for centuries , isolated from the cosmopolitan areas ,and whose dialect has not changed a single bit in almost 500 years. When their population was found by chance decades ago , everybody was shocked to learn the way their ancestors communicated. Later on , the government funded this new finding and now this language is being protected by UNESCO and even coming generations will be able to recognize this wonderful cultural asset. Had the government not funded this discovery , this language would have never gotten the attention it deserved , or even worse, disappeared.

Moreover, countryside’s landscapes , subjectively speaking, are more attractive than some giant skyscrapers who look the same ,and streets full of smog which are present in commercial major cities like New York. In a poll done lately by “Times” more than 70 percent of people liked to spend their free time in places filled with fresh air , as far away from accoustic pollution as possible. They were also interested in visiting old archeological sites , lakes and forests .These types of leisure activities are mostly offered in smaller towns and villages away from the main cities.If the government is aware of such polls and invests in said areas , their economy would grow enormously because of the interest the people have in such places.

Some believe that only the cities deserve funding from the state because they have a larger population and more imporatant institutions.While that is not incorrect and I agree that these said cities deserve the government’s funding , I believe that they do not need it more than smaller ones.I think that the cultural richness and the undiscoverd assets make villages very worthy for the states recognition and attention.